Eli

“Stop! No mommy! Please don’t hurt Faif! Please stop!  WHY are you hurting her??”

Ugh…how my little Eli’s words stung.

I wanted so badly for him to understand that I wasn’t hurting his baby sister – that I was only doing what was best for her.

I wanted so badly to really understand that myself.

Type 1 Diabetes is a disease that affects the whole family.  The younger the diagnosis is made, the truer this is, I think, because the family assumes all the care of the diabetic.

When Faith was diagnosed at 9 months old, Eli was barely 2 years old.  I remember, he was fine with all the needles and poking while we were in the hospital.  But, when all of that followed us home, he had a really hard time with it.  It was harder on him at first than it was on Faith.

Every time I pulled out any of Faith’s new diabetes supplies, Eli would melt down completely.  He is normally such an easy going, laid back soul, but he just couldn’t handle this new scary stuff that I was doing to his sister – and have you ever tried to explain to a hysterical 2 year old about the immune-attacked cells in the islets of Langerhans?

No?  Me neither.

But, I couldn’t get him to understand that this was our new normal, and that I wasn’t hurting his sweet baby sister.  I was at a loss for what to do.

This is one of the first ways that my Type 1 mom friends stepped up to help out.  It was so great to have someone to call that knew what I was going through.

Some of them offered ideas for me to try.

Others only listened and offered to pray.

But, they all offered hope.  They had been where I was, and were now on the other side of the storm.  They could tell me it would get better and I could believe them, because they’d been there…and you know what?  It DID get better.  Eli is 3 now and – not only has he gotten used to all this diabetes craziness – he is now an active part of Faith’s support team. Watch this video of Faith recently checking her blood sugar (for the first time, at 29 months!!) to see how supportive he has become (that’s him sitting next to Faith, cheering her on):

Maybe you’re new to this like I was, or maybe you’re a veteran, but are entering a new phase with this whole thing.  Whatever it is and wherever you are, just please know that it will get better, and there are others out there for you to lean on for support.

We’re all in this together and we all need each other.

Find someone that has been where you currently are – or if you see someone entering a storm that you’ve already battled – reach out to them.  And if you can’t find anyone, let me know, and I’ll try to put you in contact with someone.

Because, every ONE needs support!

2 thoughts on “Eli

Leave a Reply

