Mishaps Happen

How’s that for a title?

I heard recently from another mom who was so disappointed in herself for running out of diabetic supplies for her child.  She was able to run to the store at the last minute, and pick up what she needed – averting the crisis – but of course she still felt bad about it.  I can so identify with her guilt over such things, but it wasn’t long before several of us jumped in there with our horror stories and reassured her that we’ve all been there.

I think my all time worst goof up was the time my oldest son was in a competition in Dallas.  We were staying in one hotel, and the competition was in another.  We get checked in to our hotel, freshen up, and then drive (through Dallas traffic) to the competition.  As valet is getting in my vehicle to pull away, I realize that Ruby is alerting and I can’t find Faith’s bag.  I ran to the valet, searched through the car, and quickly realized that I have ZERO diabetes supplies with me.  (We weren’t in my personal car or at least I’d have had backups)  I have no meter, no sugar, no glucagon – and a child that can’t tell me if she’s feeling low.  I leave my son with his team, load Faith and Ruby back up in the car and drive back through Dallas traffic, crying like a baby and terrified that I was going to get caught in gridlock.  By the time I got to her bag and checked her blood sugar, she was in the low 50’s.  I gave her a juice and headed back to the competition, getting there just in time to totally miss JC’s competition.  I sat outside the room feeding Faith’s low and feeling like the worst mom EVER.

If that’s not enough to make you feel better about the job you’re doing, I could go on and tell you about the time that we totally lost Faith’s insulin…back when she was on specially diluted insulin and MDI.  We ended up finding it in the front yard – AFTER Chuck stepped on it.

Or the time I changed a bad site at 2am, but forgot to fill the canulla.  I didn’t realize it until hours later – causing a high bg, small ketone, but easily fixable issue to turn into a HIGHER bg, LARGE ketone, miserable baby, sleepless night issue.

I really could go on, but a girl can only embarrass herself so much in one post, right?

I’m throwing myself under the bus here in hopes that you’ll cut yourself some slack.  Allow others to see that you’re not perfect.  Maybe they’re beating themselves up and it would do them some good to see that we ALL make mistakes.

There’s just so much to remember when you’re managing diabetes, we’re bound to mess up occasionally.

Right??

Tell me y’all have done this too.

Because every ONE needs support.

10 thoughts on “Mishaps Happen

  1. Guilty here! Have run out of supplies, forgotten to check BG before meals, missed a nighttime injection, and slept through alarm for 2am BG check resulting in my baby girl having a low. Have left bag at home. Good to get that out! Lol. Glad I’m not alone! 🙂 As someone recently said to me, taking care of a toddler with diabetes is not a 24/7 job. It’s an every single second of every single minute of every single day job. I think that’s why we forget things…we’re so hyper-vigilant over our little ones that sometimes our minds just leave us.
    Betsy

    • Whew! Thanks! So glad it’s not just me!! Oh, and AMEN to the hyper-vigilance…and to the brain leaving… 😉 pretty sure mine’s taken a leave of absence.

  2. I have taken the kids to school and left my bag at home many times, went to the store and left bag at home, forgot to check BS till half way through meals, and the same with insulin. We have all done this.

  3. We were in OKC and my parents live in watonga at least an hour away. We were at resturant about to give emma her shot. and realized we had enough insulin to prime needle but not any left to give her shot. luckily we had CVS as a pham so we just called them and went and got it. but we were really freaked out! and felt about 2 inches tall! i mean she needs it to live how could we forget to check it to see if you need to bring extra! now we know though! thanks for sharing sarah!

  4. Yes, we’ve done all of this. Makes you feel like the worst parent ever! I think all parents to a diabetic child have done most of these things (if not you probably will at some point in the future). We got to remember that we are human 🙂

  5. How about this scenario….you get a call from your 21 year old in college at 11 o’clock at nigh……..
    he leaves his pump in a locker while working out…then leaves the gym without his pump and the gym closes and he can’t get back in!
    so it’s mom…..what do I do??!! Geez……gotta love em!! =)

  6. A few weeks ago we were at a baseball tournament. We thought it was a 2 day tournament. Found out it was a 1 day tournament. I didn’t realize I was out of Lantus until it was 9:15pm and I needed to give him some!!! He had played 6 baseball games already!!! We had been at the parks since 8:15am! Its 9:15pm and his feet are hurting so bad he can’t hardly walk, he needs his Lantus because 1) its time, 2) BS was going up, 3) his mood changed drastically. I had to calm him down in the dugout. Coaches yelling its the final (7) game now. His BS was ok but he started crying, then his eyes glazed over and he was not hearing me call his name. Talk about scary!! His pupils would go big then small. Not sure if me not being able to give him the Lantus had anything to do with this or not but I will not forget it, I hope, anymore.

      • Lucky the game was almost over. He sat in the dugout for 2 innings and I stayed with him. I kept talking to him and clapping and doing whatever I could. Within a few minutes it was over, like nothing happened, the game also ended. We packed up, went home and by then daddy was home. I called and he had the Lantus waiting when we got home. It just amazes me at how much things can change from minute by minute, hour by hour, day to day. I always try to make sure I have everything I need before I leave the house now. As I did tell you I did leave his Lantus in the motel room during the baseball games. We were playing in the middle of the afternoon. This was the first time I have ever done that, with the heat I didn’t want to take a chance of it getting to warm. It was very scary to see.

Leave a Reply

